Memorial 2019-2020 Employee of the Year

Kacie Monson, clinical pharmacy specialist, was named the 2019-2020 Memorial Employee of the Year during a virtual live-stream event last September.

Monson specializes as an internal medicine/cardiology pharmacist ensuring the appropriate and safe use of medications, patient education, performance improvement projects, cost-saving initiatives, student education, and formulary review/restrictions. She also serves as a resource for physicians, nurses, and patients.

Her supervisor, Ryan Birk, PharmD, MS, BCPS, said Monson has done an outstanding job of integrating and evolving clinical practices in this area. She focuses on aligning patient care with best practice guidelines, medication transitions of care, and teaching pharmacy students how cardiology care continues to be redefined. She is also a clinical adjunct professor with the Southern Illinois University Edwardsville School of Pharmacy.

Other candidates for Employee of the Year were Alicia Shaffer, Riley Wallace, Caroline Dorion, Victoria Hilmes, Teresa Black, Michelle Johnson, Chris Griebel, Renee Wilson, and Nakia Thomas.